Retired policeman Bruce Robert Coffin solved real-life mysteries for 27 years before creating fictional ones in his debut thriller: AMONG THE SHADOWS (on sale Sept. 13)

Retired policeman Bruce Robert Coffin solved real-life mysteries for 27 years before creating fictional ones in his debut thriller: AMONG THE SHADOWS (on sale Sept. 13)

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Julie Paulauski | 212-207-7108 | This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


“Bruce Robert Coffin’s debut crime novel is a compelling page-turner that keeps you guessing - and rooting for his determined investigator - until the very end.”—Kate Clark Flora, author of Finding Amy


AMONG THE SHADOWS 
By Bruce Robert Coffin


William Morrow is proud to be publishing AMONG THE SHADOWS by Bruce Robert Coffin (Witness Impulse; 9780062569462; $2.99; September 13). Taut and atmospheric, this debut thriller will appeal to fans of Michael Connelly, John Sandford, and James Hayman. The novel centers on veteran Detective Sergeant John Byron, a second-generation New England cop, who begins investigating a string of small-town murders—and uncovers a much more sinister plot rooted in the bedrock of the community. 

Fall in Portland, Maine usually arrives as a welcome respite from summer’s sweltering temperatures and, with the tourists gone, a return to normal life—usually. But when a retired cop is murdered, things heat up quickly, setting the city on edge.

Detective Sergeant John Byron is tasked with investigating the case despite the fact that his life is unraveling. On the outs with his department’s upper echelon, separated from his wife, and feeling the strong pull of the bottle, Byron struggles to remain all business as he tries to solve case. And when another ex-Portland PD officer dies under suspicious circumstances, he realizes there may be much more to these crimes than meets the eye. The closer Byron gets to the truth, the greater the danger for him and his fellow brothers in blue.

Bruce Robert Coffin is a former detective sergeant with more than twenty-seven years in law enforcement. At the time of his retirement, from the Portland, Maine police department, he supervised all homicide and violent crime investigations for Maine's largest city. Following the terror attacks of September 11th, Bruce spent four years working counter-terrorism with the FBI, earning the Director's Award, the highest honor a non-agent can receive.


AMONG THE SHADOWS
By Bruce Robert Coffin
On Sale: September 13, 2016
eBook | $2.99 | PP: 448  | ISBN: 9780062569462
Also available as Print on Demand (ISBN: 9780062569479 | $11.99 | on sale: September 20)


Praise for AMONG THE SHADOWS
“Compulsively readable, Among the Shadows is that rare cop novel that’s chock full of blood-and-guts detail while taking you on a ride of a lifetime. Detective John Byron is a great character, and the reader will be eager for the next installment of his story.”
—Gayle Lynds, New York Times bestselling author of The Assassins

“Bruce Robert Coffin knows cops -- how they talk, how they act, how they think -- and he deploys that knowledge to devastating effect in Among the Shadows. A tense, twisty tale of greed, betrayal, and revenge, it heralds the arrival of a powerful new voice in crime fiction.”
—Chris Holm, author of The Killing Kind

“Bruce Robert Coffin is the real deal: not just a veteran homicide detective, but an incredibly gifted storyteller. Among the Shadows is the best debut I’ve read in ages, filled with suspense, great writing, a perfectly realized setting in Portland, Maine (this is probably the most accurate depiction I’ve seen of that big little city), and an intriguing main character. Detective John Byron promises to become a break-out favorite among readers of crime fiction. He’s already one of mine.”—Paul Doiron, author of Widowmaker

“With the twists and racing pace of a thriller and the profound authenticity of a police procedural, Among the Shadows is the kind of debut crime novel that could only be written by an ex-cop.”—Brian Thiem, author of Red Line


About Witness:  Witness is the new Impulse imprint from HarperCollins Publishers devoted to thrillers, mysteries, and stories of suspense. Debuting in Fall 2013, Witness serves as a launch pad for a range of exciting titles, including new publications, previously self-published bestsellers, newly digitized backlist classics, and international books previously unavailable in the US.  For more on this and other Witness titles, please visit http://wmmorrow.hc.com/witnessimpulse, or contact Danielle Bartlett at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


###

 
This press release has been viewed 729 times on PR Buzz.